Drivers in Virginia can be stopped for texting and driving starting Monday
Time is running out for you to send that text. Starting Monday, it will cost you more if you text while driving in Virginia.
Starting July 1st, texting and driving will be a primary offense meaning police can pull you over.
Right now, they can only pull you over for another offense, like speeding, and give you a second ticket for texting.
The new law means you’ll pay $125 for a first offense and $250 for any others.
- Sailor's murals give the USS Theodore Roosevelt a splash of color
- Hampton man shoots suspected burglar who was hiding out inside barber shop closet
- Store owner forgives thief who returned $300 samurai sword to his Beach business
- Shot of the year? Roanoke high schooler makes incredible basket
- Watch this: Massive Milwaukee highway pileup captured on video