Kobe Bryant, daughter among 9 killed in California helicopter crash

President Trump approves North Carolina disaster declaration after Michael

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

US President Donald Trump speaks during a briefing on Hurricane Michael in the Oval Office of the White House in Washington, DC, October 10, 2018. (Photo by SAUL LOEB / AFP) (Photo credit should read SAUL LOEB/AFP/Getty Images)

President Donald Trump announced Thursday that a major disaster exists in the state of North Carolina, and ordered federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Tropical Storm Michael.

The counties named in his declaration were Alamance, Brunswick, Caswell, Chatham, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Granville, Hyde, Iredell, McDowell, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Vance and Yadkin.

Federal funding is available to state and local governments, as well as certain private nonprofit organizations, on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities.

Michael swept across a large swathe of the United States between October 10 and October 12, killing at least 32 people across Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and Virginia.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.