Heat advisory for many in Hampton Roads and eastern North Carolina from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Most local members of Congress don’t support Republican healthcare bill

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NORFOLK, Va. – A majority of local members of Congress don’t support the Republican healthcare plan. On Friday, House Speaker Paul Ryan pulled the bill.

Rep. Rob Wittman, R-1, announced his opposition to the bill earlier this month. “It is clear that this bill is not consistent with the repeal and replace principles for which I stand,” Wittman said in a statement on March 13.

Rep. Scott Taylor, R-2, announced this week he plans to vote in favor of the bill. “I believe 85% of something in the right direction is better than nothing,” he said in a statement, calling Obamacare “the failing status quo.”

Rep. Bobby Scott, D-3, has been opposed to the Republican plan from the start. “Instead of retrying failed health policies that result in millions paying more for less, we should build on the progress of the Affordable Care Act and not go backward,” he said in a statement.

Rep. Donald McEachin, D-4, announced he’s against the Republican plan as well. “I will not stand by and watch this country roll back on progress,” he said.

On Friday, Sen. Tim Kaine toured CHKD in Norfolk and called for improvements to the Affordable Care Act, instead of repealing the bill.

After the vote was pulled, Taylor released the following statement:

We must fix the disaster that is the Affordable Care Act. Today, we unfortunately were unable to move closer to that goal. I will continue to fight for families and individuals in a way that gives them more freedom, lower healthcare costs, and access to care. It is imperative that we fix this. If Republicans want to seize the moment and do big things, some will have to learn the everyday value of compromise and gain an understanding of what things are possible to get through a diverse legislative body.