North Carolina election results, explained

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A big win for Republicans in North Carolina - Governor Mitt Romney narrowly defeated President Barack Obama to win the battleground state.  And for the first time in 20 years, a Republican will be Governor of North Carolina.  Pat McCrory beat Democrat Walter Dalton.  This was McCory’s second run.  He was defeated by Beverly Perdue in 2008.  In McCrory’s acceptance speech, he pledged to bring the state together. 

The Lieutenant Governor’s race will be one to watch in the coming days.  Republican Dan Forest declared victory in the race against Democrat Linda Coleman.  However, only about 11,200 votes separate the two.  So, Coleman has not conceded the race and could be preparing for a recount. 

In the U.S. House of Representatives, the two incumbents in Northeastern North Carolina kept their seats.  Democrat G.K. Butterfield, Jr. was re-elected to the First District.  Republican Walter Jones retains his Third District seat. 

In the North Carolina General Assembly, Republicans expanded control.  They gained a veto-proof majority in the House.  And they kept their majority in the Senate.

2012 Election Results