VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. - A mother said she feared for her daughter’s life every morning getting on the bus.
She said too many drivers were not following the law.
NewsChannel 3 took action to help her.
We told you about Michelle Singleton last week. She was angry over drivers not stopping for the school bus.
Now she says they're slowing down.
Michelle Singleton said, “The story definitely made an impact on everyone involved.”
Singleton said drivers are slowing down near her home on Dam Neck Road in Virginia Beach.
She said drivers were constantly passing the school bus.
Police said there were planned patrols over the last few days.
“I feel like just with the police presence cars are slowing down and they're stopping for the bus,” said Singleton.
But now this mom is on a new mission.
Singleton said, “Honestly, I feel like a lot of mothers and myself are not going to be happy until there are cameras on the school buses. I feel like there are cameras at intersections, there are cameras in our police cars. There are even our cameras on the police.”
In April, the Governor sign a law that makes it easier to catch violators.
Starting in July, cities can put cameras on school buses and mail violators tickets, instead of having to physically pull the violator over.
We asked the Director of Transportation for Virginia Beach Public Schools what he thinks of this idea.
Virginia Beach Public School Director of Transportation Jay Cotthaus said this issue is a hot topic right now.
“Right now we are studying the different systems that are out there. It’s growing market. It's a growing industry and there a lot of vendors are trying to sell their wares and it's difficult to decide which one to go with. The one thing we have to have the cooperation of the Police Department.”
But for now Michelle is glad drivers are slowing down.
“This has been a major issue and I'm very glad that Channel 3 came out and brought attention to this,” said Singleton.
If you are caught not stopping for a school bus it will likely cost you $250.
The Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office said in rare cases you can also get a reckless driving ticket, depending on the severity of the violation which could be a year in jail or a $2,500 dollar fine.