One-gun-a-month handgun law ends in Virginia
If you have a clean background and your paperwork is all done, you can now lock and load as many times as you want in Virginia.
The law limiting handgun sales to one a month is no longer in effect.
This is good news for customers and gun shop owners, but many people are gun shy.
Alice Mountjoy with the Virginia Center for Public Safety says the law change could be dangerous.
“I just don’t think it’s in the best interest of public safety to allow bulk gun sales to anybody,” says Mountjoy.
She was there 20 years ago when the limit was put in place.
Its goal was to keep the commonwealth safer.
While not every want-to-be Annie Oakley can get their hands on a weapon, the question remains, who really needs all those guns?
“If you have a legitimate reason, that’s good enough,” says Mountjoy.
The law change is specifically for handguns. Rifles and shotguns have never had a limit on the number of sales.
- Newport News mom charged with child neglect after 1-year-old son found in car
- Update: VB Navy SEAL arrested for selling military weapons, ammunition released on bond
- Couple calls 911 after they don't get hash brown order at McDonald's
- Float catches fire during Oceanfront parade, caused by generator